Disaster Recovery News Summary

Main Content
Release date: 
March 6, 2001
Release Number: 

Olympia, WA -- Federal and state agencies are working in partnership to help Washington residents and businesses following the Nisqually earthquake. The following is a summary of ongoing response and recovery efforts since the Presidential disaster declaration on March 1.


The number of applications made for disaster assistance through FEMA's toll-free registration line totaled 2,742 at the close of business, Monday, March 5. State and federal officials continue to urge disaster victims to call the registration number at 1-800-462-9029 or TTY 1-800-462-7585.


During the four days since the disaster declaration, $260,856 in disaster temporary housing assistance and minimal repair grants have been issued to assist earthquake victims in the federally declared counties of King, Kitsap, Lewis, Mason, Pierce and Thurston, state and federal officials announced today.

"This early in the recovery process our concern is for people's housing needs, although other program assistance may follow," said Bill Lokey, Federal Coordinating Officer for the Federal Emergency Agency (FEMA).

For some, the temporary housing assistance check is just the first check they will receive.

"In addition to safe and secure housing, we are working together to ensure that all victims receive the disaster recovery assistance to which they may be entitled," added State Coordinating Officer Diane Offord.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top