Main Content

Over $10 Million Obligated for Infrastructure Damages

Main Content
Release date: 
February 22, 2001
Release Number: 

Texarkana, TX -- Over $10 million has been obligated for debris removal and infrastructure damages in Texas since the Jan. 8 presidential disaster declaration. Eligible damages must have been incurred by the severe winter storms that took place in Texas between Dec. 12, 2000 and Jan. 15, 2001.

There have been 204 requests for FEMA Public Assistance from entities in 46 counties in northeastern Texas and the panhandle area. These 46 counties are eligible for funding of emergency protective measures, debris removal and repair or replacement of public facilities such as roads, bridges, buildings and utilities. Some private non--profit agencies are also eligible for assistance if they are open to the public and perform essential services of a governmental nature.

The final applicant briefing for state, local, and eligible non--profit agencies took place in Panhandle, TX, on Feb. 16. Requests for Public Assistance may be submitted up to 30 days after the designation of the county in which the damage is located. After receiving a request, FEMA assigns a Public Assistance Coordinator to work with each applicant throughout the disaster recovery period.

FEMA has extended 90 percent federal funding for debris removal through July 9, 2001. Other Public Assistance funding is at 75 percent federal share.

The eligible counties for infrastructure assistance are: Armstrong, Bailey, Borden, Bowie, Briscoe, Carson, Cass, Cherokee, Cooke, Crosby, Dawson, Deaf Smith, Delta, Fannin, Floyd, Franklin, Gaines, Garza, Gray, Grayson, Gregg, Hall, Harrison, Hemphill, Hopkins, Hunt, Lamar, Lynn, Marion, Montague, Morris, Nacodoches, Oldham, Panola, Parmer, Potter, Rains, Randall, Red River, Rusk, San Augustine, Shelby, Smith, Titus, Upshur and Wood.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: