Nine Additional Counties To Receive Assistance With Storm Damage

Main Content
Release date: 
February 13, 2001
Release Number: 

Texarkana, TX -- The counties of Armstrong, Bailey, Deaf Smith, Hall, Hemphill, Oldham, Parmer, Potter and Randall, have been added to the list of jurisdictions that will receive assistance with debris removal and other forms of public assistance, bringing the total number of declared counties in Texas to 46.

Federal Coordinating Officer Justo Hernandez of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced the addition of these counties following the completion of assessments of damage incurred during the winter ice storms from Dec. 12, 2000, through Jan. 15, 2001.

These counties join 37 previously declared counties: Borden, Bowie, Briscoe, Carson, Cass, Cherokee, Cooke, Crosby, Dawson, Delta, Fannin, Floyd, Franklin, Gaines, Garza, Gray, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hopkins, Hunt, Lamar, Lynn, Marion, Montague, Morris, Nacogodoches, Panola, Rains, Red River, Rusk, San Augustine, Shelby, Smith, Titus, Upshur and Wood.

The declaration of these additional counties allows public entities to seek assistance with storm--related damage, including debris removal, emergency protective measures, and permanent repairs to roads, bridges, utilities, and other infrastructure, according to alternate State Coordinating Officer Richard Boltz.

The federal government increased its reimbursement for debris removal associated with the severe storms to 90 percent through March 9, 2001. Federal assistance for other aspects of public assistance, including emergency services and the replacement of roads, bridges, buildings and utilities is reimbursed at 75 percent.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top