Boone County Added to Emergency Declaration for Illinois Snowstorms

Main Content
Release date: 
February 7, 2001
Release Number: 

Chicago, IL -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that Boone County has been added to the emergency declaration for snow removal made available to units of government and certain private non-profit organizations in Illinois. The original declaration, issued Jan. 17, provided federal funds to supplement emergency response efforts as a result of last month's winter storms that produced record snowfalls.

FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Jim Roche authorized the assistance after an analysis of additional snowfall data provided by the Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA). The declaration covers jurisdictions that were blanketed with record and near-record snowfall over the period of Dec. 10-31.

This brings the total to 27 counties that have been designated eligible for federal funding to pay part of the cost for emergency protective measures undertaken as a result of the storms. This includes local units of government and state agency operations needed to protect public health and safety and to prevent damage to public or private property.

"I appreciate FEMA's willingness to continue to consider Illinois counties that were hit with record or near-record snowfall," Governor George Ryan said. "This assistance will help these units of government recover more quickly from the impact of this severe weather," he added.

Under the emergency declaration, FEMA will provide reimbursement to local units of government, certain private non-profit organizations, and state agencies for 75 percent of the total eligible costs of equipment, contracts, and personnel overtime related to emergency services in dealing with the snow for a 48-hour period. These are the crucial hours when work crews clear snow from emergency routes and roads to critical facilities to permit the passage of emergency vehicles. Related emergency protective measures such as sanding and salting, search and rescue, shelter operations, and police and fire department response will also be eligible for reimbursement.

The initial counties designated included Bureau, Cook, DeWitt, DuPage, Ford, Fulton, Grundy, Henry, Iroquois, Kane, Kankakee, Kendall, Lake, Livingston, Marshall, McDonough, McHenry, McLean, Stark, Will and Winnebago. Henderson, LaSalle, Menard, Ogle and Peoria Counties were added on Jan. 26.

Last Updated: 
July 19, 2012 - 23:02
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top