Main Content

Deadline Approaches for County, City Officials to Apply for Storm Aid

Release date: 
February 1, 2001
Release Number: 

Little Rock, AR -- County and city officials and other eligible applicants in 61 counties who are managing recovery efforts due to the December ice storms have until February 9 to file a request for public assistance with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management (ADEM).

Public assistance funds can be used by cities and counties and other eligible applicants for reimbursement of expenses incurred for:

  • Debris removal
  • Emergency protective measures
  • Repair or replacement of public infrastructure such as roads, bridges and utilities

Counties facing the February 9 deadline are: Arkansas, Benton, Bradley, Calhoun, Clark, Cleveland, Columbia, Conway, Crawford, Crittenden, Cross, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Faulkner, Franklin, Fulton, Garland, Grant, Hot Spring, Hempstead, Howard, Izard, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Lafayette, Lee, Lincoln, Little River, Logan, Lonoke, Madison, Marion, Miller, Mississippi, Monroe, Montgomery, Nevada, Newton, Ouachita, Perry, Pike, Poinsett, Polk, Pope, Prairie, Pulaski, St. Francis, Saline, Scott, Searcy, Sebastian, Sevier, Stone, Union, Van Buren, Washington, White, Woodruff and Yell.

Four additional counties have a February 21 deadline for filing a request for public assistance. Those counties are: Baxter, Boone, Cleburne and Sharp.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: