Titus County Individuals and Businesses Eligible for Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
January 30, 2001
Release Number: 

Texarkana, TX, January 30, 2001 -- Titus County residents are now eligible to apply for individual disaster assistance for losses from the winter storms that swept through Texas from Dec. 12 through Jan. 15, federal and state disaster recovery officials announced today. Titus County jurisdictions are already eligible for funding for debris removal, emergency protective measures and repair or replacement of public facilities such as roads, bridges, buildings and utilities.

Federal Coordinating Officer Gracia Szczech of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced the addition and urged affected Titus residents and business owners to call the toll--free teleregistration line at 1--800--462--9029 to apply for disaster assistance (TTY number is 1--800--462--7585).

State Coordinating Officer Richard Boltz noted that there are a variety of state and federal programs designed to help people recover from the storm, depending on their individual needs. The programs may include:

  • Disaster Housing Assistance, administered by FEMA, for individuals and families whose homes were unlivable as a result of the ice storm. The program provides homeowners or renters with funding for temporary accommodations or minimal home repairs to make a property safe, secure and habitable.

  • Low--interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration for homeowners, renters or business owners for the repair, replacement or rebuilding of disaster--damaged property.

  • Financial Grants through the Individual and Family Grant program for those who have serious immediate needs resulting from the disaster that cannot be met by other sources.

  • Disaster Unemployment. Administered by the Texas Workforce Commission, this program is available for persons who are not normally covered by unemployment insurance, such as the self--employed, who lose work because of the storms.

Residents and business owners in Bowie, Cass, Fannin, Lamar and Red River Counties were previously declared eligible for individual assistance.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top