Main Content

Six Additional Counties Receive Assistance with Storm Damage

Release date: 
January 22, 2001
Release Number: 

Texarkana, TX -- The Texas counties of Briscoe, Crosby, Floyd, Nacogdoches, San Augustine and Shelby, have been added to the list of jurisdictions that will receive assistance with debris removal and other forms of public assistance, federal and state agencies announced. This brings the total number of declared counties in Texas to 37.

Federal Coordinating Officer A. David Rodham of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced the addition of these counties following the completion of preliminary assessments of damage incurred during the winter storms from Dec. 12, 2000, through Jan. 15, 2001.

These counties joined 31 previously declared counties. Bowie, Cass and Red River counties were originally declared eligible for reimbursement for debris removal and emergency protective measures on Jan. 8. On Jan. 19, the following counties joined the list of declared counties: Borden, Carson, Cherokee, Cooke, Dawson, Delta, Gaines, Garza, Gray, Gregg, Grayson, Fannin, Franklin, Harrison, Hopkins, Hunt, Lamar, Lynn, Marion, Montague, Morris, Panola, Rains, Rusk, Smith, Titus, Upshur and Wood.

The declaration of these additional counties allows public entities to seek assistance with storm--related damage, including debris removal, emergency protective measures, roads, and utilities, said State Coordinating Officer Richard Boltz. This assistance will help address the needs of cities, counties, school districts and certain private non--profit entities that provide governmental services in areas adversely affected by these storms.

On Jan. 19, the federal government increased its reimbursement for debris removal associated with the severe storms to 90 percent through March 9. Federal assistance for other aspects of public assistance, including emergency services and the replacement of roads, bridges, buildings and utilities is reimbursed at 75 percent.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: