Texas Disaster Sees Additional Counties and Cost--Share Changes

Main Content
Release date: 
January 19, 2001
Release Number: 

Texarkana, TX -- An additional 28 Texas counties have been added to the list of jurisdictions eligible for funding for debris removal and other forms of public assistance, federal and state disaster recovery officials announced today. Also, Lamar County residents are now eligible to apply for individual assistance.

Federal Coordinating Officer A. David Rodham of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced the additions following a review of information regarding damages incurred by winter storms from Dec. 12, 2000, through Jan. 15, 2001. The counties are: Borden, Carson, Cherokee, Cooke, Dawson, Delta, Gaines, Garza, Gray, Gregg, Grayson, Fannin, Franklin, Harrison, Hopkins, Hunt, Lamar, Lynn, Marion, Montague, Morris, Panola, Rains, Rusk, Smith, Titus, Upshur and Wood. Bowie, Cass and Red River counties were already declared eligible for reimbursement for debris removal and other emergency protective measures on Jan. 8, 2001.

For debris removal associated with the severe storms, the federal government has increased its reimbursement to 90 percent of the cost through March 9, said State Coordinating Officer Richard Boltz. After that date the federal cost share will be 75 percent. Communities and some non--profit agencies in the designated 31 counties are also eligible for 75 percent federal share of the costs of emergency services and repair or replacement of public facilities such as roads, bridges, buildings and utilities. Federal funding is also available on a cost--sharing basis for measures to prevent or lessen future damage (hazard mitigation).

In addition, Lamar County residents are now eligible to apply for disaster assistance, which could include housing assistance, low--interest loans to repair or replace storm--damaged property or grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs. Bowie, Cass and Red River were already declared eligible for individual assistance on Jan. 8.

Residents and business owners are urged to call the toll--free registration line at 1--800--462--9029 to apply for disaster assistance. A special phone line for those with hearing or speech--impairments is 1--800--462--7585.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top