More Counties to Receive Federal Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
January 11, 2001
Release Number: 

Little Rock, AR -- Eight counties have been added to the list of Arkansas counties eligible for federal disaster assistance following ice storms beginning Dec. 12, officials of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

Individuals and businesses in Baxter, Conway, Independence, Izard, Newton, Pope, Searcy and Van Buren counties now are eligible to apply for disaster assistance, which can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, minor home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration also will be available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

The addition of these eight counties brings to 60 the number of Arkansas counties eligible for help to individuals. These counties are: Arkansas, Baxter, Benton, Bradley, Calhoun, Clark, Cleveland, Columbia, Conway, Crawford, Crittenden, Cross, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Faulkner, Franklin, Garland, Grant, Hot Spring, Hempstead, Howard, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Lafayette, Lee, Lincoln, Little River, Logan, Lonoke, Madison, Miller, Mississippi, Monroe, Montgomery, Nevada, Newton, Ouachita, Perry, Pike, Poinsett, Polk, Pope, Prairie, Pulaski, St. Francis, Saline, Scott, Searcy, Sebastian, Sevier, Union, Van Buren, Washington, White, Woodruff and Yell.

Residents and business owners are urged to call the toll-free registration line at 800-462-9029 to apply for disaster aid. A special line for hearing- or speech-impaired persons is 800-525-0321. The lines are answered from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily until further notice.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top