Main Content

30 Counties Added to Disaster Declaration for Aid to Individuals, Businesses and Local Governments

Main Content
Release date: 
January 2, 2001
Release Number: 

Conway, AR -- 30 Arkansas counties included in the Emergency Declaration Dec. 28 by President Clinton are now included in the Major Disaster Declaration. This means individuals and businesses, as well as local governments in these counties, are now eligible to apply for federal and state disaster-recovery assistance.

The assistance, to be coordinated by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, minor home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration also will be available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance. Additionally, federal funds will be available to the state and affected local governments to pay 75 percent of the eligible cost for debris removal, emergency services and debris removal.

To apply for assistance, call 1-800-462-9029, or 1-800-461-7585 for speech- and hearing-impaired individuals. The lines are answered from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily until further notice.

The newly added counties are: Benton, Clark, Crawford, Cross, Faulkner, Franklin, Garland, Hot Spring, Hempstead, Howard, Jackson, Johnson, Lee, Little River, Logan, Madison, Miller, Mississippi, Montgomery, Perry, Pike, Poinsett, Saline, Scott, Sebastian, Sevier, Washington, White, Woodruff and Yell.

Counties originally included in the major disaster declaration are: Arkansas, Bradley, Calhoun, Cleveland, Columbia, Crittenden, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Grant, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lincoln, Lonoke, Monroe, Nevada, Ouachita, Polk, Prairie, Pulaski, St. Francis and Union.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top