Federal Disaster Funds Authorized For North Dakota

Main Content
Release date: 
December 29, 2000
Release Number: 

Washington, DC -- The head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today designated nine counties in North Dakota eligible for federal disaster funds to help communities recover from the effects of a severe winter storms and tornadoes that hit the state beginning November 1, 2000.

FEMA Director James Lee Witt took the action after President Clinton authorized the assistance under a major disaster declaration issued this afternoon. The declaration covers damage to public property from the storm that occurred from November 1, 2000 through November 20, 2000.

The counties designated for assistance include Benson, Bowman, Cavalier, Divide, Golden Valley, McKenzie, Ramsey, Towner and Williams. Witt indicated that additional designations may be made later if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Under the declaration, federal funds will be available to the state and affected local governments in the nine counties to pay 75 percent of the eligible cost for repairing or replacing damaged public facilities. Funding also will be provided for the state on a cost-shared basis for approved projects that reduce future disaster risks.

Steven R. Emory of FEMA was named by Witt to coordinate the federal relief effort. Emory said that procedures for requesting assistance will be explained at a series of applicant briefings at locations to be announced shortly in the affected areas.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top