Disaster Application Period Ends January 5

Main Content
Release date: 
December 29, 2000
Release Number: 

Phoenix, AZ -- January 5, 2001 is the last day for disaster victims in four Arizona counties plus the Gila River Indian Community to apply for federal and state disaster assistance, according to Federal Coordinating Officer David Fukutomi and State Coordinating Officer Michael P. Austin, Director of the Arizona Division of Emergency Management.

The Gila River Indian Community and four counties - La Paz, Maricopa, Pinal and Yavapai -- were named federal disaster areas as a consequence of a declaration issued by President Bill Clinton following severe storms and flooding in October and early November of 2000.

Individuals and business owners who sustained damage from Oct. 21 through Nov. 8 of 2000, and still have not applied for disaster assistance, may call the toll-free Teleregistration number at 1-800-462-9029, through 6:00 p.m. on Jan. 5. The number has been set up for persons to begin a process of disaster recovery offered by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the state.

"Even after the deadline passes, FEMA will still be available by phone." Fukutomi said, "Call the FEMA Helpline, with questions about the assistance process or the status of applications."

Helpline representatives remain available from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Mondays through Saturdays: 1-800-525-0321.

For persons with hearing or speech impairment, both the Teleregistration number and the Helpline number are the same: 1-800-462-7585.

Dave Neely, field office manager for the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), said applications for long-term, low-interest home or business disaster loans from SBA must be filed by Jan. 5; but businesses that may qualify for Economic Injury Disaster Loans have until July 27, 2001, to apply. The toll-free SBA telephone number is 1-800-488-5323.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top