Main Content

Federal Emergency Funds Authorized For Arkansas

Main Content
Release date: 
December 28, 2000
Release Number: 

Washington, DC -- The head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today designated 52 counties in Arkansas eligible for federal disaster funds to supplement state and local response efforts to the severe winter storms that hit the state beginning December 12, 2000.

FEMA Director James Lee Witt took the action after President Clinton authorized the assistance under an emergency declaration issued this afternoon. Under the declaration, federal funds will be available to the state and affected local governments in the 52 counties to pay 75 percent of the eligible cost for debris removal and emergency services related to the storm.

The counties designated for assistance include Arkansas, Benton, Bradley, Calhoun, Clark, Cleveland, Columbia, Crawford, Crittenden, Cross, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Faulkner, Franklin, Garland, Grant, Hot Springs, Howard, Hempstead, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Lafayette, Lee, Lincoln, Little River, Logan, Lonoke, Madison, Miller, Mississippi, Monroe, Montgomery, Nevada, Ouachita, Perry, Pike, Polk, Poinsett, Prairie, Pualski, St. Francis, Saline, Scott, Sebastian, Sevier, Washington, White, Woodruff, Union and Yell. Witt indicated that additional designations may be made later if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Joe Bray of FEMA was named by Witt to coordinate the federal relief effort. Bray said that procedures for requesting assistance will be explained at a series of applicant briefings at locations to be announced shortly in the affected areas.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top