Main Content

Jackson County Added to Presidential Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
December 8, 2000
Release Number: 

Oklahoma City, OK -- Jackson County has been added to the list of counties included in the disaster declaration issued by President Clinton on November 27. The declaration, sought by Governor Keating, makes federal and state Public Assistance available to public agencies and facilities for damage caused by the late October storms and flooding.

The county was added after the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) reviewed damage assessment information, submitted by the Oklahoma Department of Civil Emergency Management (ODCEM).

With the Presidential disaster declaration, affected local governments in Jackson County are eligible to apply for federal assistance to fund 75 percent of the approved costs for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and repairing, restoring or replacing damaged public facilities. Disaster assistance also may be provided to repair, restore and replace facilities owned by certain private non-profit organizations that operate and maintain educational, utility, emergency, medical, custodial care and other essential governmental service facilities.

"If damage assessment figures come in from undeclared counties through the state, FEMA will review the information and add them to the declaration if the losses qualify for federal assistance," Federal Coordinating Officer Joe D. Bray said.

There are now 11 counties eligible for federal and state disaster assistance. On November 27, President Clinton designated nine Oklahoma counties a major disaster area. The counties were: Caddo, Carter, Comanche, Cotton, Grady, Jefferson, Kiowa, McClain and Tillman. On Friday, December 8, Oklahoma County was declared eligible for Individual Assistance and Jackson County for Public Assistance.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top