Disaster Recovery News Summary

Main Content
Release date: 
December 4, 2000
Release Number: 

More than 100 apply for disaster assistance
In less than a week since President Clinton issued a major disaster declaration for Oklahoma, more than 100 residents have applied for disaster assistance, state and federal officials announced today. People who have been affected are encouraged to call 800-462-9029 from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. seven days a week to apply for federal assistance. The number for hearing and speech impaired is TTY 800-462-7585.

When calling to apply, the following information will help with the application processing:

  • Your current phone number.
  • Your address at the time of the disaster and the address where you are now staying.
  • Your Social Security number, if available.
  • A general list of damages and losses you suffered.
  • Good directions to the property that was damaged.
  • If insured, your insurance policy number, or the agent's and company name.
  • General financial information.

Apache Disaster Recovery Center Serving Applicants
The Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) , which opened on December 1 at the former Family Medical Clinic Building, 121 Evans Street in Apache, has provided information to 52 residents and business owners from Caddo and Grady county who have applied for federal and state disaster assistance. The DRC will continue to serve applicants from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday until further notice.

Applicants for disaster assistance are urged to visit the DRC, after calling the application number, to meet face-to-face with recovery specialists. Representatives of local, state and federal agencies, as well as volunteer agencies, are on hand to provide program and service information. The majority of the inquiries are focused on the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) temporary housing grant program and the Small Business Administration's (SBA) disaster loan program.

Information available from program specialists at the Apache center includes disaster housing assistance, low-interest loans for homeowners and renters as well as businesses from the SBA, and technical assistance on how to minimize future flood damages and information on the National Flood Insurance Program is also available.

Community Relations Teams Visit Flood Damaged Areas
Community Relations (CR) teams are canvassing communities in the declared areas. Team members, who go door-to-door to talk with individuals who have suffered damages, have also visited more than 70 churches in Caddo and Grady Counties. They also met with representatives of community-based agencies, community leaders and public officials. When the CR staff identifies unmet needs, they provide this information to the state and federal recovery staff.

Infrastructure Assistance Available for Communities
Under the declaration, federal funds will be provided to pay affected local governments 75 percent of the eligible costs for emergency protective services, debris removal, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities in the counties of Caddo, Carter, Comanche, Cotton, Grady, Jefferson, Kiowa, McClain and Tillman. The declaration also makes hazard mitigation funds available to the state for approved projects that reduce or eliminate future disaster risks.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top