More Arizona Communities To Receive Disaster Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
November 16, 2000
Release Number: 

Phoenix, AZ -- Three more jurisdictions in Arizona were named eligible today for further disaster assistance, following a review of additional information about damages incurred in October's severe storms and flooding.

Pinal County and the Gila River Indian Community are now eligible for Individual Assistance and Public Assistance.

Maricopa County, which was already designated for Individual Assistance, is now eligible for Public Assistance as well.

Under the Individual Assistance Program, residents may be eligible for grants for disaster housing assistance, low-interest loans to repair or replace storm-damaged property, and additional grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other disaster assistance programs.

The Public Assistance Program provides federal funds to state and local government, and certain not for profit organizations performing services of a governmental nature, for 75 percent of approved costs of debris removal, storm-related emergency services, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities such as roads, bridges and utilities.

The Hazard Mitigation Program, administered by the state, provides federal funds to help protect homes and businesses against future damage by floodproofing, relocating or elevating buildings, and similar protective or preventive measures. Hazard mitigation funds are available in all of Arizona.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top