Governor Hull Signs Agreement Ensuring Assistance To Flood Victims

Main Content
Release date: 
November 15, 2000
Release Number: 

Phoenix, AZ -- Governor Jane Dee Hull signed an agreement today with the Federal Emergency Management Agency outlining state and federal responsibilities to Arizona citizens and jurisdictions associated with the severe storms and flooding.

On October 24, Governor Hull declared a State of Emergency due to widespread damage caused by storms and flooding in Arizona. The declaration included the counties of La Paz, Maricopa, Santa Cruz and Cochise. Because the damage was so widespread, Governor Hull requested federal assistance from President William Clinton, which he approved on October 27. President Clinton responded "...determining that the damage in certain areas of the state of Arizona, resulting from severe storms and flooding beginning on October 21, 2000 and continuing, is of sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant a major disaster declaration under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121 et seq. (the Stafford Act). I therefore declare that such a major disaster exists in the State of Arizona." As a result of the Federal Declaration assets were made available to the State of Arizona and its citizens.

The FEMA-State Agreement for this major disaster was designated FEMA-1347-DR, under the Stafford Act, and was based on assistance needed to recover from severe storms and flooding that occurred between October 21 and November 8. Both parties may amend this agreement at any time by written approval.

Federal assistance under the Stafford Act and the FEMA-State Agreement covers the following areas of the State and such additional areas as may be subsequently designated by the Regional Director of FEMA Region IX:

  • La Paz and Maricopa counties for Individual Assistance.
  • Cochise, La Paz, and Santa Cruz counties for Public Assistance.
  • All counties in Arizona are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

The Governor has indicated her intent to implement the Individual and Family Grant Program which provides grants to individuals and families to meet serious disaster related needs and necessary expenses not covered by insurance or other federal, state or voluntary agency disaster assistance programs.

Federal funds are available on a cost share basis for hazard mitigation measures, which could substantially reduce the risk of future damage, hardship, loss or suffering in any area within the state.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top