Main Content

Federal Funds Authorized to Help Fight Kentucky Wildfires

Release date: 
November 7, 2000
Release Number: 

Washington, D.C. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) made federal funds available for two more uncontrolled multiple wildfires spanning 16 counties in Kentucky over the past weekend.

The state's requests for FEMA fire suppression aid were approved for the Eastern District Complex fire on Saturday, November 4, in six counties and the Southeastern District Complex fire in ten counties.

The Eastern District Complex consists of six separate fires that have threatened 3,700 homes and burned 5,500 acres. The six counties involved are Floyd, Johnson, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, and Pike.

The Southeastern District Complex comprises six to seven fires that have threatened 5,250 homes and has burned 33,000 acres. Wildfires associated with this complex include areas in Bell, Clay, Harlan, Jackson, Knox, Laurel, Leslie, McCreary, Rockcastle, and Whitley counties.

Under the authorizations, FEMA will pay 70 percent of the state's eligible firefighting costs that are above $144,090. The figure, called a floor cost, is derived from a formula based on the state's five-year annual average cost for fighting fires.

Federal fire suppression aid is provided through the President's Disaster Relief Fund and made available by FEMA to assist in fighting fires when they threaten to cause a major disaster. Eligible state firefighting costs covered by the aid can include expenses for field camps; equipment use, repair and replacement; tools, materials and supplies; and mobilization and demobilization activities.

Last Updated: 
March 29, 2016 - 20:05
State/Tribal Government or Region: