Application Deadline Approaching For Some Disaster Aid Programs

Main Content
Release date: 
October 12, 2000
Release Number: 

Helena, MT -- Time is running out for individuals and business owners who sustained physical losses as a result of this summer's wildfires. People who live, own a business or work in one of the 48 counties and six reservations declared a major disaster area as a result of the wildfires have about two weeks left to register for state and federal disaster assistance.

Monday, Oct. 30 is the application deadline for the Disaster Housing and Individual and Family Grant programs as well as Small Business Administration (SBA) physical loss disaster loans. This deadline only applies to losses to real and personal property and disaster-related medical, dental, funeral and moving and storage expenses.

Deadline to apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance is Nov. 4. Disaster Unemployment Assistance extends benefits to self-employed individuals not normally covered by the unemployment compensation program, such as farmers, ranchers, guides, outfitters and other business owners, if they lost work because of the wildfires.

Individuals with economic losses as a result of the disaster who are facing foreclosure or eviction have until March 2, 2001 to register for aid through the Mortgage and Rental Assistance Program.

Businesses have until May 30, 2001 to apply for Economic Injury Disaster Loans from the SBA.

Individuals and business owners who sustained losses as a direct or indirect result of the fires but haven't already registered should call 1 800 745-0243 as soon as possible.

You must call the FEMA registration number to qualify for federal and state disaster programs, even if you have already called the state Department of Commerce or the American Red Cross.

The following counties were designated eligible for federal and state disaster assistance for damage caused by wildfire between July 13 and Sept. 25: Beaverhead, Big Horn, Blaine, Broadwater, Carbon, Carter, Cascade, Chouteau, Custer, Deer Lodge, Fallon, Flathead, Fergus, Gallatin, Garfield, Glacier, Golden, Granite, Valley, Hill, Jefferson, Judith Basin, Lake, Lewis and Clark, Liberty, Lincoln, Madison, Meagher, Mineral, Missoula, Musselshell, Park, Petroleum, Phillips, Powder River, Powell, Prairie, Ravalli, Rosebud, Sanders, Silver Bow, Stillwater, Sweet Grass, Teton, Toole, Treasure, Wheatland and Yellowstone counties. The following reservations also are eligible for disaster aid: Blackfeet, Flathead, Fort Belknap, Rocky Boy, Crow, and Northern Cheyenne.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top