Deadline Nears for Applying for Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
September 20, 2000
Release Number: 

Toledo, OH -- Residents of Lucas County who have not yet applied for federal disaster have only one month left to call. Friday, October 20 is the last day to file applications for most disaster assistance programs, according to federal and state disaster recovery officials.

Federal Coordinating Officer Lou Botta and State Coordinating Officer Dale Shipley urge those who have not done so to apply as soon as possible by calling the toll-free application line at 800-462-9029, Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Hearing or speech impaired persons may call a special TTY number, 800-462-7578. Multi-lingual operators are available to take you call.

Renters, homeowners or business owners who live or do business in Lucas County and suffered losses from the storms and flooding, which hit the area July 29 to August 2, may be eligible for assistance. President Clinton declared the county a major disaster area on August 21. The application deadline is 60 days from the date of declaration.

PApplicants may qualify for assistance under several federal and state programs such as disaster housing assistance, grants to meet disaster-related needs, or U.S. Small Business Administration disaster loans. SBA loan applications must be completed and returned to SBA by October 20. Businesses applying for Economic Injury Disaster Loans have until May 21, 2001, to submit applications.

For answers to questions about the disaster assistance programs or to check the status of their claim, applicants may call the FEMA Helpline at 800-525-0321. The hearing- or speech-impaired may call the TTY 800-462-7585. These lines are also available Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.

More than 3,000 residents have already called to apply and more than $3 million in grants and another $1 million in low-interest loans have been approved for almost two-thirds of those applicants.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top