Main Content

Twenty Counties And Four Reservations Added To Montana's Wildfire Disaster Declaration

Release date: 
September 19, 2000
Release Number: 

Helena, MT -- Disaster assistance is now available for an additional 20 Montana counties and four Indian reservations, federal and state officials announced today. This assistance for individuals and businesses comes following a review of additional information regarding impact as a result of the recent wildfires and forest closures.

The additional areas added to the declaration are Big Horn, Blaine, Carter, Chouteau, Custer, Fallon, Fergus, Garfield, Golden Valley, Hill, Liberty, Musselshell, Petroleum, Phillips, Powder River, Prairie, Rosebud, Toole, Treasure and Yellowstone counties and the Fort Belknap, Rocky Boy, Crow and Northern Cheyenne Indian reservations.

"It is heartening to know that help is on the way for more Montanans who have lost so much in this summer's wildfires," said Governor Marc Racicot. "I'm gratified that FEMA has determined that it will allow additional areas to be eligible for disaster assistance.

"I encourage all Montanans who have suffered losses to register with FEMA," Racicot added. "If we don't know about your losses, the help you may deserve may not find you."

"Federal, state, and local governments all recognize the major economic impacts inflicted by the recent wildfires," said Federal Coordinating Officer Carlos Mitchell. "Today's decision to include more counties and reservations reflects the magnitude of the disaster and the need to expand assistance. The wildfire disaster declaration now covers 48 Montana counties and six Indian reservations."

Individuals and business owners in Montana can register for disaster assistance by calling 1-800-745-0243 (TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech- or hearing-impaired) between 8:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Assistance to individuals and businesses can include Economic Injury Disaster Loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration, Disaster Unemployment Assistance, crisis counseling, and mortgage and rental assistance.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: