Greene County Designated Eligible For Federal/State Infrastructure Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
September 14, 2000
Release Number: 

Albany, NY -- Greene County is now eligible to apply for state and federal disaster assistance for debris and emergency protective services and to repair or replace facilities damaged by severe storms and flooding, disaster recovery officials announced today.

Marianne C. Jackson of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today designated Greene County eligible for the Public Assistance Program following a review of additional information regarding damages that occurred from May 3 through Aug. 12.

Jackson said this latest disaster designation means that governmental entities in Greene County can apply for help with eligible costs associated with debris removal, emergency protective measures, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities. Disaster assistance also may be provided to repair, restore or replace facilities owned by certain private, nonprofit organizations that operate and maintain educational, utility, emergency, medical, custodial care or other essential governmental service facilities.

According to FEMA officials, 75% of the costs of eligible approved projects will be reimbursed by FEMA.

Edward F. Jacoby, Jr., Director of the New York State Emergency Management Office (NYSEMO), said, "The declaration will help Greene County with needed financial assistance to repair or replace damaged public property. This assistance will go a long way toward restoring much needed public services."

The addition of Greene County brings to 28 the number of New York counties designated eligible for the Public Assistance Program as a result of a major disaster declaration signed by President Clinton on July 21. Other counties eligible for assistance under the declaration are Albany, Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chenango, Columbia, Dutchess, Erie, Essex, Herkimer, Lewis, Livingston, Madison, Montgomery, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga, Orleans, Otsego, Rensselaer, Schenectady, Schoharie, Steuben, Sullivan, Tioga, Tompkins, Ulster and Yates.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top