Main Content

President Declares Major Disaster for Ohio; Lucas County Designated for Aid to Flood Victims

Release date: 
August 21, 2000
Release Number: 

Washington, DC -- Federal disaster aid was made available today for flood victims in Lucas County under a major disaster declaration issued for Ohio by President Clinton, according to the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

FEMA Director James Lee Witt said the President's action authorizes the use of federal funds to help meet the recovery needs of county residents and business owners who sustained damage from severe storms and flooding that hit the area over the period of July 29 through August 2. Witt designated the county eligible for the aid immediately after the declaration.

The assistance, to be coordinated by FEMA, can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, minor home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration also will be available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

Additionally, Witt said the declaration makes cost-shared funding available to the state for approved projects that reduce future disaster risks. He named Louis H. Botta of FEMA to serve as the federal coordinating officer for the recovery.

Botta said affected residents and business owners in Lucas County can begin the disaster application process by calling 1-800-462-9029, or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will be available starting Tuesday, August 22, from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. (ET) seven days a week until further notice.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: