Main Content

Nine More New York Counties Designated Eligible For Federal/State Storm Assistance

Release date: 
August 1, 2000
Release Number: 

Albany, NY -- Nine more New York counties now are eligible to apply for state and federal disaster assistance for debris and emergency protective services and to repair or replace facilities damaged by severe storms and flooding, disaster recovery officials announced today.

Marianne C. Jackson of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) designated Allegany, Cattaraugus, Erie, Essex, Orleans, Rensselaer, Schenectady, Schoharie and Steuben counties eligible for the Public Assistance Program following a review of additional information regarding damages that occurred from May 3 through June 30.

Jackson said this latest disaster designation means that governmental entities in these counties can apply for help with eligible costs associated with debris removal, emergency protective measures, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities. Disaster assistance also may be provided to repair, restore or replace facilities owned by certain private, nonprofit organizations that operate and maintain educational, utility, emergency, medical, custodial care or other essential governmental service facilities.

According to FEMA officials, 75% of the costs of eligible approved projects will be reimbursed by FEMA.

New York State Coordinating Officer Edward F. Jacoby, Jr. said, "The declaration will help these counties with needed financial assistance to repair or replace damaged public property. This assistance will go a long way toward restoring much needed public services."

The addition of Allegany, Cattaraugus, Erie, Essex, Orleans, Rensselaer, Schenectady, Schoharie and Steuben counties brings to 21 the number of New York counties designated eligible for the Public Assistance Program as a result of a major disaster declaration. Other counties eligible for assistance under the presidential disaster declaration are Albany, Chenango, Herkimer, Lewis, Madison, Montgomery, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga, Otsego, Tioga and Tompkins.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: