Residents In Dakota, Fillmore, Houston And Mower Counties Now Eligible For Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
July 14, 2000
Release Number: 

Minneapolis, MN -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that Dakota, Fillmore, Houston and Mower counties have been added to the Presidential disaster declaration issued on June 23. Residents of these counties may now apply for a variety of state and federal assistance programs and services.

"These additions to the declaration were made following a review of information regarding costs and damages suffered by local residents as a result of recent severe storms and flooding," explained Federal Coordinating Officer Ted Monette.

Residents of Dakota, Fillmore, Houston, and Mower counties and the White Earth Reservation may now apply for individual assistance by calling FEMA toll-free at 1-800-462-9029 (TTY 1-800-462-7585). That assistance may include: reimbursement of temporary housing costs; coverage of minimal repairs to damaged homes and businesses; individual grants to assist with serious disaster-related needs; unemployment insurance; and, U.S. Small Business Administration low-interest loans to homeowners, business owners and renters.

Any renter, homeowner or business owner who suffered damage may apply for assistance by calling FEMA toll-free at 1-800-462-9029 between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m. daily (CDT). For those with speech or hearing impairment, the TTY number is 1-800-462-7585. This toll-free call will initiate an application for assistance available under the federal disaster declaration.

When you call to apply, it is helpful to have the following information available:

  • Your current phone number.
  • Your address at the time of the disaster and the address where you are now staying.
  • Your Social Security number.
  • A general list of damages and losses you suffered.
  • Good directions to the property that was damaged.
  • If insured, the name of your insurance company and your policy number.
    [If you have insurance, call your agent before calling to apply for disaster assistance.]

Disaster recovery officials urge individuals who have suffered damage and have unmet needs to call the toll-free number. "We encourage people not to prejudge their eligibility," Monette said. "It's important that all impacted residents get the assistance to which they're entitled."

Today's amendment to the disaster declaration also makes public assistance programs available to local governments and nonprofit organizations in Dakota and Ramsey Counties. Federal funds will be provided to cover 75 percent of the eligible costs of restoring damaged public facilities and for approved projects that mitigate future disaster losses. State and local government can apply for federal funds on a cost-shared basis for approved projects.

At present, 13 Minnesota counties are eligible for some type of state and federal disaster assistance. Southeastern counties designated for public and individual assistance include: Fillmore, Houston and Mower, while those eligible for only public assistance are Dodge, Faribault, Freeborn and Winona. In the northwestern part of the state, Becker, Clay, Mahnomen and Norman counties and the White Earth Reservation will receive both public and individual assistance. In the Twin Cities metro area, Dakota County has been designated eligible for both individual and public assistance programs while Ramsey County will receive public assistance.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top