FEMA and Minnesota to Make Three Disaster Recovery Centers Available Next Week

Main Content
Release date: 
July 7, 2000
Release Number: 

Moorhead, MN -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Division of Emergency Management (DEM) will make temporary Disaster Recovery Centers available next week in Mahnomen, Ada and Moorhead.

The locations and days of operation are: the Mahnomen County Courthouse (basement), 311 W. Main on Tuesday, July 11; the Norman County Law Enforcement Center, 15 Second Avenue E in Ada, on Wednesday, July 12; and Moorhead at the Family Service Center (Room 7), 715 11th Street N, on Thursday and Friday, July 13 and 14. Residents may visit any of the centers if they would like additional information. The centers will be open from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. each day.

"These temporary centers will be available to offer residents a chance to sit down and talk face-to-face with recovery specialists after they have applied for disaster assistance," said Ted Monette, FEMA's federal coordinating officer. "A variety of federal, state and voluntary agency programs are available for homeowners, renters and business owners affected by the disaster," he added. "Now is the time to find out about these programs and begin the process of recovering."

Each center will provide information and personnel from the Minnesota Departments of Health, Economic Security, Natural Resources (Waters Division), and Public Safety (Division of Emergency Management) and the Housing Finance Agency. FEMA will provide information on individual assistance programs. The U.S. Small Business Administration will have personnel available to handle questions about disaster home and business loans.

Federal and state disaster recovery officials urge anyone who has suffered losses or damages as a result of last month's storms to call the toll-free application number at 1-800-462-9029. Those with hearing or speech impairments may call TTY 1-800-462-7585 to apply. Phone lines will be open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., seven days a week until further notice.

Centers are available to everyone, however, individuals must reside, work or do business in a declared area to be eligible for federal and state disaster assistance. Those areas include Becker, Clay, Mahnomen or Norman counties and White Earth Reservation.

Programs available to eligible applicants include:

Disaster Housing Assistance, administered by FEMA, for individuals and families whose homes were destroyed or made unlivable as a result of the disaster. The program provides funding for temporary accommodations or repairs needed to make a home safe, secure and habitable.

Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration for homeowners, renters or business owners for the repair, replacement or rebuilding of disaster-damaged property.

Grants through the Individual and Family Grant program for people who have serious immediate needs resulting from the disaster that cannot be met by other sources.

Technical advice on common-sense ways to minimize losses from in future disasters.

Disaster Unemployment Assistance providing weekly benefits to those individuals out of work due to the disaster, including self-employed persons, farm owners, and others not covered under regular unemployment benefits.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top