Don't Rule Yourself Out Of The Disaster Recovery Process

Main Content
Release date: 
July 6, 2000
Release Number: 

Bismarck, ND -- Residents and business owners in disaster-declared counties are being encouraged by federal and state officials to apply for assistance as soon as possible and not to prejudge their eligibility for the variety of disaster programs and services offered under the June 27 presidential declaration.

"Everyone affected by the disaster should register," said Steven Emory, federal coordinating officer for the Federal Emergency Management Agency. "I advise residents in the declared counties to not rule themselves out as being eligible for assistance.

Persons who may be eligible for assistance include those who have lost personal property, real property or income. Those eligible for assistance may also include migrant workers, new immigrants, students and self-employed persons.

Doug Friez, state coordinating officer for North Dakota, said, "It is important for those affected by the disaster to understand that not everyone may be eligible for the same programs or the same number of dollars. Each person's situation is considered on its own."

Call now to register: 1-800-462-9029 (TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech- or hearing-impaired). Operators will take your call between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m. daily. The operator will ask for your name, the address of your property affected by the flooding, a telephone number where you can be reached, and your insurance policy number if you have it.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top