Buyout Projects Approved for Franklin County and City of Union

Main Content
Release date: 
June 27, 2000
Release Number: 

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Missouri State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) announced today that funding has been approved for two mitigation buyout projects, one for Franklin County and one for the City of Union. Total state and federal funds available for these projects are $550,497 for the Franklin County and $974,430 for the City of Union.

This funding will be provided through FEMA's Hazard Mitigation Grant Program to remove residential structures in harm's way from potential flooding. Franklin County and Union will voluntarily acquire and remove flood-prone residential property in the special flood hazard areas. The acquired land will be permanently dedicated to municipal open space, recreational, or wetland uses.

"Our goal is to help reduce both the potential for future flood damage and the corresponding human suffering it causes," said Robert Bissell, Director of Mitigation for FEMA Region VII. "Missouri communities continue to join in this partnership in a concerted effort to solve their flooding problems and develop disaster resistant communities."

"The approval of this project is a result of careful and intense efforts by the four partners involved, namely Missouri's State Emergency Management Agency, Franklin County, the City of Union, and FEMA," Bissell added.

SEMA Director Jerry B. Uhlmann said, "After seeing the May flash flooding devastation first hand, I am pleased the two projects have been approved so quickly. Residents who participate in the voluntary buyouts will now be able to concentrate on moving out of the flood prone areas in Franklin County and the City of Union."

Both projects will target residential properties in the 100-year floodplain. This is a voluntary buyout program. If additional funds become available, local officials may be able to expand the program to include more residential properties.

Last Updated: 
July 19, 2012 - 23:02
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top