Main Content

Weakley County Approved For Limited Disaster Resistance

Main Content
Release date: 
June 20, 2000
Release Number: 

Nashville, TN -- Weakley County was added today by federal and state disaster officials to the 14 widespread Tennessee counties already declared eligible for federal assistance as a result of May storms.

Counties that can receive federal money covering 75 percent of the costs to clear debris and make repairs to damaged public properties such as roadways, bridges, public buildings and municipal utilities are:

Anderson, Benton, Cheatham, Davidson, Henry, Hickman, Houston, Knox, Jackson, Lake, Obion, Perry, Pickett, Steward, and Weakley.

Eligibility for disaster aid is limited to the 15 counties, their local governments, and certain private non-profit agencies, said Mike Butler, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) official who is coordinating federal operations in the disaster areas.

"Restoring the infrastructure contributes to the rapid recovery of the affected county economies in crucially meaningful ways," said John D. White, Jr., director of the Tennessee Emergency Management Agency (TEMA).

"It would be a heavy burden for local citizens to finance all infrastructure repair, restoration and replacement work alone," White added.

Butler said that to be eligible for assistance, damage must be directly attributed to the May 23-31 rainstorms and battering winds. President Clinton declared the counties a major disaster area June 12.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: