Main Content

Federal Disasters Declared for DC and Maryland

Release date: 
June 12, 2000
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- President Clinton has declared the District of Columbia and parts of Maryland Federal disaster areas for the severe winter storm that hit the last week in January. The governor of Maryland and mayor of the district recently requested reimbursement for costs associated with clean up from the storm. Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Director James Lee Witt said the President authorized the assistance under separate major disaster declarations.

Under the declarations, Witt said the state and local governments in 13 Maryland jurisdictions as well as the District of Columbia are eligible to apply for federal funding to pay 75 percent of the approved cost for emergency services related to the storm that occurred over the period of January 25-30.

The Maryland jurisdictions designated for the assistance include the city of Baltimore and the counties of Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Calvert, Charles, Frederick, Howard, Kent, Montgomery, Prince George's, Queen Anne's, St. Mary's and Talbot.

Witt said the declaration also makes cost-shared funding available to the state and the district for approved projects that reduce future disaster risks. He indicated that more counties and additional forms of federal assistance may be designated later after further evaluation of the storm's effects.

Thomas P. Davies of FEMA was named by Witt to coordinate the federal assistance.

Last Updated: 
July 19, 2012 - 23:02
State/Tribal Government or Region: