Main Content

FEMA Offers Helpline For Disaster Information And Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
June 7, 2000
Release Number: 

St. Clair, MO -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency has opened a disaster information Helpline for those who suffered losses in the severe thunderstorms and flash flooding of May 6-7. Applicants who have questions about disaster recovery programs or the status of their application may call 1-800-525-0321 for assistance. Those who are hearing or speech impaired may call TTY 1-800-462-7585.

"Disaster victims can learn more about federal programs by calling this number. They can make corrections, changes or additions to their application, or they can get clarification of any letter they may have received," said Federal Coordinating Officer Peter Martinasco. "A Helpline operator may not be able to answer all of your questions, but will be able to refer you to the appropriate agency or organization."

Applicants who have received a letter from FEMA are encouraged to read the entire letter carefully. If they have any questions they should call the Helpline.

President Clinton signed a major disaster declaration May 12 for 10 Missouri counties making their residents eligible for federal disaster assistance. The declared counties are: Crawford, Franklin, Gasconade, Jefferson, St. Charles, St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, St. Louis, Warren and Washington.

Before calling the Helpline, homeowners, renters and business owners who suffered losses in the designated counties must be registered with FEMA. Disaster victims are encouraged to apply for assistance by calling FEMA's toll-free registration line at 1-800-462-9029 or, for the hearing or speech impaired: TTY 1-800-462-7585.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top