Federal Disaster Assistance For Missouri Tops $ 2.1 Million

Main Content
Release date: 
May 27, 2000
Release Number: 

St. Clair, MO -- Less than two weeks after President Clinton declared 10 Missouri counties a federal disaster area, disaster assistance has topped more than $ 2.1 million, according to the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

"We are pleased that we have been able to provide so much aid to victims of the severe thunderstorms and flash flooding of May 6-7 this quickly," said Federal Coordinating Officer Peter Martinasco. "The federal/state inspection teams have been working hard to keep the process moving."

A total of $ 2,151,503.19 has been approved to help individuals, families, and business owners. Crawford, St. Charles, St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, St. Louis, Warren and Washington counties have been designated for Individual Assistance. Franklin, Gasconade and Jefferson counties are eligible for Individual Assistance and Public Assistance. There have been more than 1,200 registrations through FEMA's toll-free number.

Disaster Assistance funds have been approved as follows:
558 checks approved for disaster housing: $1,031,750.19
91 applications for individual and family grant approved: $411,053.00
U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) loans approved: $708,700.00

State Coordinating Officer Jerry Uhlmann said he was pleased that federal dollars were coming to the Missouri disaster victims so quickly. "To be less than two weeks into this disaster and be accomplishing this much is a credit to our local, state and federal partnership," he said.

Decisions on loans and grants are made on a case-by-case basis. The first step in applying for disaster assistance is to register with FEMA by calling toll-free 1-800-462-9029 (those who are hearing or speech impaired may call TTY 1-800-462-7585).

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top