Don't Disqualify Yourself For Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 25, 2000
Release Number: 

St. Clair, MO -- If you live, work, or own property in any of the 10 Missouri disaster counties, and your life was adversely affected by the severe thunderstorms and flash flooding May 6-7, You should register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

Don't disqualify yourself for federal assistance by not registering. Disaster recovery programs address a wide variety of situations, including transportation assistance and, under the right circumstances, even debris removal. Let a FEMA inspector determine your eligibility.

Soon after you register, a FEMA inspector will arrange to visit you and your damaged property. Within two weeks of the inspection, you should receive a letter from FEMA, which will tell you what assistance you are eligible for and provide further information.

If the letter contains a U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) loan application, it is very important that you fill out that application and return it-even if you don't want a loan. The loan application is used to determine your eligibility for additional programs. If a loan is offered, it will be at a very favorable rate-usually 4 percent or less-and you do not have to take it, if you do not want it.

The 10 Missouri disaster counties are: Crawford, Franklin, Gasconade, Jefferson, St. Charles, St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, St. Louis, Warren and Washington.

Call FEMA toll-free to register: 1-800-462-9029 (or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech- hearing-impaired). Operators will take your call between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m., seven days a week until further notice.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top