First Checks Approved For Disaster Victims

Main Content
Release date: 
May 21, 2000
Release Number: 

St. Clair, MO -- Qualified residents in counties declared eligible for state and federal disaster aid after the severe thunderstorms and flash flooding of May 6 to 7 are receiving recovery checks. More than $316,000 in Disaster Housing Assistance has been approved.

On May 12, President Clinton declared Franklin, Jefferson, Crawford, Gasconade, St. Charles, Ste. Genevieve, St. Francois, St. Louis, Warren and Washington counties a major disaster area. This declaration made residents and business owners in these counties eligible to apply for various disaster assistance programs.

Disaster assistance can come in the form of grants to pay for alternate short-term housing until repairs to the damaged dwelling can be made, and/or grants to make minimal home repairs.

In addition to disaster housing assistance, other available recovery programs include: low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration for homeowners, renters or business owners; grants to meet serious disaster-related needs not covered by other programs, and disaster unemployment assistance.

Unemployment payments up to 26 weeks may be available for workers who temporarily lost jobs because of the disaster and who do not qualify for state benefits, such as self-employed individuals. For information about disaster unemployment assistance, please call 1-800-788-4002.

Those who sustained damage to their residence or business because of the storms and flooding of May 6 to 7 should apply for disaster assistance by calling toll-free 1-800-462-9029. Hearing or speech-impaired applicants may call TTY: 1-800-462-7585. Hours to call are daily, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. CDT until further notice.

So far, more than 942 people in affected counties have registered for disaster assistance. State and federal disaster recovery officials point out that renters, as well as homeowners, can apply.

Those who have already applied but have questions about the status of their applications can call the Helpline, 1-800-525-0321 (TTY: 1-800-462-7585) daily from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. or visit the Disaster Recovery Center, located in the Union Memorial Auditorium, on the lower level of City Hall, 501 E. Locust.St, Union. The center is open Sunday, May 21 from noon to 6 p.m. and Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 8 p.m., until further notice.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top