6 More Counties Get Public Facility Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
March 14, 2000
Release Number: 

FRANKFORT, Ky. -- Six Kentucky counties today were added to those eligible for federal and state disaster assistance to repair public facilities damaged in severe storms and flooding which began Feb. 18.

Federal Coordinating Officer Scott Wells of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) designated Bourbon, Carter, Johnson, Lawrence, Oldham and Pendleton counties for FEMA public assistance after damage assessments showed federal aid is needed to help the counties rebuild.

W.R. Padgett, director of the Kentucky Division of Emergency Management, said communities in the six counties may request 75 percent matching aid for eligible costs of emergency services, debris removal, and repair or replacement of public facilities such as roads, bridges, buildings and utilities. The state of Kentucky will be responsible for 12 percent of the cost and local governments the other 13 percent.

Thirteen Kentucky counties are now eligible for FEMA public assistance. Boyd, Fleming, Greenup, Harrison, Lewis, Nicholas and Rowan counties became eligible under the presidential disaster declaration issued Feb. 28 at the request of Gov. Paul Patton.

Carter County already was one of 10 counties eligible for disaster assistance to individuals and businesses.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top