Monroe, Walton Counties Eligible for Winter Storm Aid as Total Declared in State Reaches 47

Main Content
Release date: 
February 14, 2000
Release Number: 

ATLANTA, Ga. -- Two more counties have been added to the 45 already declared eligible for federal and state disaster assistance as a result of damaging winter storms that swept across the region in a frigid late January week-long period. The counties are Monroe and Walton.

As with the 45 previously declared counties, local governments can now receive funding to supplement efforts in removing debris from rights-of-way, and in paying for emergency protective measures. Also eligible for federal help are certain private, non-profit electric membership corporations, according to Federal Coordinating Officer Theodore A. Monette, Jr.

The declaration makes it possible for federal and state funding that would cover the cost for debris removal, which includes broken limbs and fallen trees, and emergency costs resulting from the disaster. Such costs could include overtime pay for police, fire and other vital public personnel.

Georgia Emergency Management Agency Director Gary W. McConnell, on behalf of Governor Roy E. Barnes, assured local officials of Monroe and Walton counties that disaster assistance information will be discussed with them early next week.

In addition to Monroe and Walton , other counties in the 47 now eligible for federal assistance are Banks, Barrow, Bartow, Butts, Carroll, Chattooga, Cherokee, Clarke, Cobb, Dawson, DeKalb, Douglas, Elbert, Fannin, Floyd, Forsyth, Franklin, Fulton, Gilmer, Gordon, Gwinnett, Habersham, Hall, Haralson, Hart, Henry, Jackson, Jasper, Lamar, Lumpkin, Newton, Oconee, Paulding, Pickens, Pike, Rabun, Rockdale, Spalding, Stephens, Taliaferro, Union, Upson, Walker, White and Wilkes.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top