Main Content

FEMA, SBA, And State Recovery Assistance Exceeds $1 Billion Mark

Main Content
Release date: 
February 11, 2000
Release Number: 

RALEIGH, N.C. -- The total of Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA), and state funds committed for the North Carolina recovery effort from Hurricanes Floyd and Irene this week surpassed $1 billion.

With the deadline for registering for recovery assistance rapidly approaching, registrations for assistance in the 66 counties declared as disaster areas by the President in the aftermath of the 1999 storms reached 83,369. The deadline to get on the rolls for recovery help is next Thursday, February 17.

Anyone who suffered real or potential damages or losses in those storms is urged to call now to the FEMA recovery Hotline at 1-800-462-9029 or, for the speech or hearing impaired, TTY 1-800-462-7585. Registration will be accepted until 6 p.m. on February 17.

"We don't want anyone who suffered through Hurricanes Floyd and Irene to be denied the opportunity for assistance to help them along the road to recovery," said Carlos Mitchell, federal coordinating officer. "We hope that anyone who hasn't already done so will call and get registered now, today."

Cumulative totals of FEMA, SBA, and state recovery assistance:

  • SBA disaster home loans: $282.2 million
  • SBA business real property and economic loss loans: $132.2 million
  • Disaster housing assistance: $73.8 million
  • Individual and family grants: $77.7 million
  • Missions assigned by FEMA to other federal and state agencies tasked to help in recovery operations: $30 million
  • Money approved for local governments and eligible private, nonprofit agencies for repair and restoration of public facilities and other disaster expenses: $214.9 million
  • National Flood Insurance Program claims approved: $124.5 million
  • Crisis counseling: $868,000
  • Disaster unemployment assistance: $5.1 million
  • Temporary housing: $39.8 million
  • Acquisitions of structures: $32.8 million

Total state, FEMA, and SBA recovery dollars: $1.01 billion

Counties whose residents were declared eligible for disaster assistance by the President:

Alamance, Anson, Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Chatham, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Davidson, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Franklin, Gates, Granville, Greene, Guilford, Halifax, Harnett, Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Martin, Montgomery, Moore, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Orange, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Randolph, Richmond, Robeson, Rockingham, Rowan, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly, Stokes, Tyrrell, Union, Vance, Wake, Warren, Washington, Wayne, and Wilson.

County by County Disaster Aid
Feb. 11, 2000

Declared CountyTotal Disaster ApplicantsFamilies Assisted - HousingDisaster Housing AmountIFG Applicants Approved SBA Loans ApprovedSmall Business Administration LoansPublic Assistance ProjectsPublic Assistance FundingTOTAL $


Last Updated: 
February 27, 2013 - 11:13
State/Tribal Government or Region: