Main Content

Application Deadline For Disaster Assistance is Feb. 17

Main Content
Release date: 
February 10, 2000
Release Number: 

RALEIGH, N.C. -- Thursday, Feb. 17 is the final day for North Carolinians who suffered losses from Hurricanes Floyd and Irene to apply for disaster assistance. With the deadline looming, nearly 300 people have registered so far this week, bringing the total number of North Carolinians who have registered to 83,697.

To apply, call the FEMA Hotline now at 1-800-462-9029 (TTY 1-800-462-7585). After Thursday, Feb. 17, it will be too late.

Everyone who applies will be considered for the full range of federal and state disaster aid programs, including disaster housing assistance, grants for individuals and families and low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration.

Federal and state officials urge all those who incurred losses from recent hurricanes to apply, including those in the following categories:

  • People with flood insurance should register, as pending insurance settlements may not meet the full costs of expenses or additional damages may surface after a settlement is finalized. Assistance programs may be available to help if a need arises at a later date.

  • People with flood damages who are eligible for only minimal disaster assistance because their communities do not participate in the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) should register. If their community later joins the NFIP, they will be considered for all disaster assistance programs.

  • People who believe they will not qualify for disaster assistance or will not want the help offered should register. Many are unaware of the full range of aid programs available, and registration does not obligate a person to accept assistance.

Officials urge residents to encourage neighbors, friends and family members to register, especially those who are socially isolated or who lack access to a newspaper, television or other media outlet.

The President has declared that people in the following counties who suffered damages in the 1999 floods may be eligible for state and federal assistance:

Alamance, Anson, Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Chatham, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Davidson, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Franklin, Gates, Granville, Greene, Guilford, Halifax, Harnett, Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Martin, Montgomery, Moore, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Orange, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Randolph, Richmond, Robeson, Rockingham, Rowan, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly, Stokes, Tyrrell, Union, Vance, Wake, Warren, Washington, Wayne, and Wilson.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top