Main Content

Two North Carolina Counties Added For Snow Disaster Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
February 9, 2000
Release Number: 

RALEIGH, N.C. -- Two more North Carolina counties have been added to the 31 already declared eligible for public assistance as a result of the January 24-25 snowstorm.

Government units in Edgecombe and Wilson Counties are now eligible to apply for debris and snow removal, emergency protective measures, and restoration of public utilities.

Public assistance does not include authorization for individual assistance as a consequence of the snow and subsequent ice.

The previously declared counties are Alamance, Anson, Cabarrus, Caswell, Chatham, Davidson, Durham, Franklin, Granville, Guilford, Halifax, Harnett, Hoke, Johnston, Lee, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Moore, Nash, Northampton, Orange, Person, Randolph, Richmond, Rockingham, Scotland, Stanly, Union, Vance, Wake, and Warren.

The declaration also makes cost-shared funding available to the state for approved projects that reduce future disaster risks.

The North Carolina Emergency Management Division is conducting meetings with county and municipal officials to explain the process for local governments to seek reimbursement for storm-related expenses.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: