Main Content

Communities Eligible For Snow And Ice Disaster Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
February 1, 2000
Release Number: 

RALEIGH, N.C. -- As a result of the record snowfall in North Carolina the night of January 24-25 and the subsequent freezing rain and icing, the President has declared 31 counties eligible for public assistance through the Federal Emergency Management Agency. Public assistance is funding for state and local governments and certain private, nonprofit agencies for the repair and restoration of public facilities and other disaster expenses.

The declaration does not include authorization for individual assistance as a result of the snowstorm.

Counties included in the new disaster declaration are Alamance, Anson, Cabarrus, Caswell, Chatham, Davidson, Durham, Franklin, Granville, Guilford, Halifax, Harnett, Hoke, Johnston, Lee, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Moore, Nash, Northampton, Orange, Person, Randolph, Richmond, Rockingham, Scotland, Stanly, Union, Vance, Wake, and Warren.

The Public Assistance Program provides for reimbursement of eligible costs at a rate of 75 percent federal, 25 percent non-federal for the following:

  • Debris and snow removal
  • Emergency protective measures, such as search and rescue, safety barricades and signs, and emergency road repairs

Hazard mitigation funds also will be made available to all North Carolina counties for action taken to prevent or reduce long term risk to life and property from natural or technological hazards.

The North Carolina Emergency Management Division will be contacting officials in the designated counties and conduct meetings to explain the process for local governments to seek reimbursement for storm-related expenses.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: