Disaster Assistance Climbs to Almost $1.6 Million

Main Content
Release date: 
January 31, 2000
Release Number: 

OWENSBORO, Ky. -- Almost $1.6 million in disaster assistance has already been approved to assist individuals and local governments who suffered losses in the tornadoes and flash flooding earlier this month, state and federal disaster officials announced today.

The aid includes more than a half million dollars for homeowners, renters and business owners. The total includes $150,086 in disaster housing grants for 176 applicants and $368,600 in low-interest loans for 19 homeowners and two businesses. Another $923,482 has been approved to assist local governments with the cost of debris removal and repairs to public utilities.

To date, almost 1100 residents have applied for disaster aid. Residents of Crittenden, Daviess, Hancock, Henderson, Hopkins or Webster Counties who suffered uninsured losses from the tornadoes and floods may be eligible for assistance. A county by county breakdown of approved assistance follows:

CountyApplicationsHousing Claims ApprovedHousing Grants Distributed

Note: All figures listed above are as of close of business January 27. A county breakdown of SBA low-interest loans was not available at press time.

In addition to aid to families and individuals, almost $1 million has been approved for state and local governments in the nine Western Kentucky counties that suffered infrastructure losses from the storms.

More than $660,000 in federal funds has been approved for debris removal and $263,250 for public utilities. Twenty-one requests for public assistance have been received from state and local governments, special districts (schools), and certain private non-profit organizations.

Federal funds will pay 75 percent of the eligible cost for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities in the counties designated eligible for infrastructure aid. The state will provide 12 percent of the eligible costs, with the local government picking up the remainder.

The counties designated for infrastructure assistance are Ballard, Breckenridge, Carlisle, Crittenden, Daviess, Hopkins, Livingston, Spencer and Webster.

State and federal officials urge anyone in the six designated counties who suffered uninsured losses from the storms to apply for assistance if they have not yet done so. To begin the application process, storm victims must first call the FEMA toll-free registration number, 1-800-462-9029.

Those who have already applied for aid but have questions about their application should call the FEMA Helpline at 1-800-525-0321. Persons with hearing or speech impairments who have questions or wish to apply for aid may call TTY 1-800-462-7585.

Both the application and helpline numbers are open Monday through Saturday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., CST.

Last Updated: 
February 20, 2013 - 13:24
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top