Main Content

Federal Disaster Aid Ordered For Georgia Winter Storm

Release date: 
January 28, 2000
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- Federal disaster funds were made available today for Georgia to supplement state and local response efforts to the crippling winter storm that hit the state beginning January 22, according to the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

FEMA Director James Lee Witt said President Clinton authorized the assistance under a major disaster declaration issued this afternoon following a review of the agency's analysis of the state's expedited request for federal aid submitted yesterday.

Under the declaration, Witt said the state and local governments in 30 counties are eligible to apply for federal funding to pay 75 percent of the approved cost for debris removal and emergency services related to the storm, including requested emergency work undertaken by the federal government.

The counties designated for the assistance include Banks, Barrow, Bartow, Chattooga, Cherokee, Cobb, Dawson, DeKalb, Elbert, Fannin, Forsyth, Franklin, Fulton, Gilmer, Gordon, Gwinnett, Habersham, Hall, Hart, Lumpkin, Newton, Oconee, Paulding, Pickens, Rabun, Stephens, Union, Walker, White and Wilkes.

Witt said the declaration also makes cost-shared funding available to the state for approved projects that reduce future disaster risks. He indicated that more counties and additional forms of federal assistance may be designated later after further evaluation of the storm's effects.

Theodore A. Monette, Jr., of FEMA was named by Witt to coordinate the federal relief effort. Monette said that procedures for requesting assistance will be explained at a series of applicant briefings at locations to be announced shortly in the affected areas.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: