Main Content

Helpline, Disaster Recovery Centers May Expedite Flood Relief

Release date: 
January 24, 2000
Release Number: 

RALEIGH, N.C. -- Those affected by North Carolina's 1999 hurricanes and floods whose recovery needs have not yet been resolved are urged to visit any of the five disaster recovery centers (DRCs) still open or call the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Helpline.

The FEMA Helpline number is 1-800-525-0321 or 1-800-462-7585 for persons with speech or hearing impairments. The line is open 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. seven days a week.

"Thousands of people have received housing assistance, U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low interest disaster loans, unemployment benefits and other recovery boosts from federal and state agencies," said Carlos Mitchell, federal coordinating officer. "But for those people who have questions about their applications, I urge them to visit one of the state/federal DRCs or call the FEMA Helpline. You can get up-to-the-minute reports on the progress of your application, or you can get detailed explanations of assistance that may be available for your unique recovery needs."

The DRCs are still staffed with personnel from human services programs and the SBA. They can retrieve victims' files and advise on realistic recovery strategies. These are basically the same services one may receive by calling the Helpline.

DRCs are open at the following locations:

Edgecombe County
3003 N. Main Street
Lenoir County
107 S. Queen Street

Nash County
300 S. W. Main Street 
Rocky Mount
Pender County
109 S. Wright Street

Pitt County
Carolina East Center
South Memorial Drive

The centers are open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Friday and 8 a.m. to noon on Saturday.

For those who have not yet applied for assistance, the deadline for registering is now February 17. If you live in one of the 66 counties declared a disaster area by the President, you are urged to call the FEMA recovery Hotline at 1-800-462-9029 or TTY 1-800-462-7585 from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday.

The declared counties are:

Alamance, Anson, Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Chatham, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Davidson, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Franklin, Gates, Granville, Greene, Guilford, Halifax, Harnett, Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Martin, Montgomery, Moore, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Orange, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimana, Person, Pitt, Randolph, Richmond, Robeson, Rockingham, Rowan, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly, Stokes, Tyrrell, Union, Vance, Wake, Warren, Washington, Wayne, and Wilson.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: