FEMA/Kentucky Disaster Recovery Center In Owensboro Announces New Hours And Closing Date

Main Content
Release date: 
January 20, 2000
Release Number: 

OWENSBORO, Ky. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and Kentucky Division of Emergency Management (KYEM) have announced today the new hours of operation and the closing date of the Disaster Recovery Center located at the Daviess County Courthouse (St. Ann Street entrance). The center will operate from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. on Saturday, January 22, 2000, will be closed Sunday, January 23, and will then re-open for two final days of operation, Monday and Tuesday, January 24 and 25, from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.

The Small Business Administration (SBA), however, will continue to maintain staff at the Disaster Recovery Center location until further notice. The SBA offers low-interest loans to eligible individuals and businesses to repair or replace damaged property and personal belongings not covered by insurance.

Kentucky Division of Emergency Management Director, W. R. Padgett, stated, "The center will continue to be staffed with representatives of federal, state and voluntary agencies who will provide information and answer questions about the assistance available to residents of designated disaster counties following the recent tornadoes, storms and flash flooding until its closure on Tuesday, January 25, at 6:00 p.m." Padgett added, "The center is open to everyone. But to be eligible for federal disaster assistance, individuals and businesses must have suffered damages in one of the four designated disaster counties " Daviess, Crittenden, Hopkins and Webster."

If they haven't done so yet, disaster victims are urged to start the application process by calling toll-free, 1-800-462-9029. Those will hearing or speech impairments may call TTY 1-800-462-7585 to apply.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top