Hopkins County Added To Tornado Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
January 18, 2000
Release Number: 

OWENSBORO, Ky. -- Hopkins County residents Saturday became eligible to apply for disaster benefits as a result of the January 3-4 tornadoes and flash floods that also struck Daviess, Crittenden and Webster Counties.

The designation means that residents of Hopkins County are eligible to apply for disaster assistance that could include disaster housing aid, low-interest loans to repair or replace storm-damaged property, or direct grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not when property is uninsured or underinsured.

The declaration, signed by President Clinton January 10, applies to renters as well as homeowners. Businesses also are eligible to seek relief from disaster losses.

In order to determine eligibility, persons who suffered losses in the storms need only to call the toll-free Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) hotline, 1-800-462-9029. For persons with speech or hearing impairments, the TTY number is 1-800-462-7585.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top