FEMA Extends Flood Assistance Deadline Again

Main Content
Release date: 
January 18, 2000
Release Number: 

RALEIGH, N.C. -- As the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) registration hotline continued to receive over 150 calls per day from people applying for disaster assistance, Federal Coordinating Officer Carlos Mitchell extended the deadline for the third time for victims of the 1999 hurricanes and floods, this time until February 17.

Mitchell said, "It is clear that hundreds of North Carolinians, for whatever reasons, have not had the opportunity to seek the assistance for which they may be eligible. This new deadline, February 17, 2000, should give them that opportunity.

"We're here to help disaster victims along the road to recovery," he continued. We don't want any individual or business who sustained losses in those disasters to be overlooked."

The FEMA registration Hotline number is 1-800-462-9029. Persons who have speech or hearing impairments and use special keyboard equipment should call TTY 1-800-462-7585. The lines are open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday.

Nearly 82,000 victims in the 66 disaster-declared counties already have sought assistance from the state and federal government for damages sustained in the storms. At the close of Saturday's business day, FEMA, the U. S. Small Business Administration, and other federal and state agencies had approved over $916 million for disaster recovery.

The President has declared the following counties disaster areas eligible for state and federal assistance:

Alamance, Anson, Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Chatham, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Davidson, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Franklin, Gates, Granville, Greene, Guilford, Halifax, Harnett, Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Martin, Montgomery, Moore, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Orange, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimana, Person, Pitt, Randolph, Richmond, Robeson, Rockingham, Rowan, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly, Stokes, Tyrrell, Union, Vance, Wake, Warren, Washington, Wayne, and Wilson.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top