Main Content

Application Deadline Less Than Week Away For Flood Victims

Release date: 
January 12, 2000
Release Number: 

RALEIGH, N.C. -- Victims of the 1999 hurricanes and floods are scrambling to register for recovery assistance as the deadline for accepting applications slipped to the less than a week.

Next Tuesday, January 18, at 6 p.m. is cut off time for residents of the 66 disaster declared North Carolina counties to apply for assistance for a multitude of state and federal programs.

For the past week, people who suffered losses as a result of Hurricanes Floyd and Irene in September and October have been calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) registration Hotline at the rate of more than 100 per day as the deadline date looms nearer.

If you are among those who suffered damages during those storms and have put off calling, it is urgent to call the FEMA Hotline now at 1-800-462-9029 or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for persons with speech or hearing impairments to initiate action to receive recovery assistance for which you may be eligible.

Persons who have flood insurance whose claims have not already been resolved should register in case their policies do not cover all their losses. Sometimes federal or state programs are available to help fill the gaps. And covert damages, those which are not immediately noticeable, may surface later.

Persons who do not have flood insurance because their communities are not participants in the National Flood Insurance Program should register, because if the community later elects to enroll in the program, the benefits of all disaster programs will become available.

The President has declared the following counties disaster areas eligible for state and federal assistance:

Alamance, Anson, Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Chatham, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Davidson, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Franklin, Gates, Granville, Greene, Guilford, Halifax, Harnett, Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Martin, Montgomery, Moore, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Orange, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimana, Person, Pitt, Randolph, Richmond, Robeson, Rockingham, Rowan, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly, Stokes, Tyrrell, Union, Vance, Wake, Warren, Washington, Wayne, and Wilson.

Call now! 1-800-462-9029 or TTY 1-800-462-7585. It could be your last chance.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: