Main Content

Disaster Aid Ordered for Maine Storm Recovery

Release date: 
November 19, 1999
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- Federal disaster aid was made available today to help communities in five Maine counties recover from the effects of Hurricane Floyd, according to the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). 

FEMA Director James Lee Witt said President Clinton authorized the assistance under a major disaster declaration issued for the state because of damage to public property from the storm that spawned heavy rains, high winds and flooding over the period of September 16-19.

Under the declaration, federal funds will be provided for the state and affected local governments to pay 75 percent of the eligible cost for repairing or replacing damaged public facilities such as roads, bridges and utilities in the counties of Androscoggin, Cumberland, Kennebec, Oxford and Somerset. Funding also will be available to the state on a cost-shared basis for approved projects that reduce future disaster risks. 

Witt, who designated the counties eligible for assistance following the declaration, indicated that additional counties may be designated later if requested and warranted by the results of further damage assessments. He named David Rodham of FEMA to serve as the federal coordinating officer for the recovery effort.

Rodham said that procedures for requesting assistance will be explained at a series of applicant briefings at locations to be announced shortly in the affected areas.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: