Deadline Nears For Applying For Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
November 11, 1999
Release Number: 

COLUMBIA, S.C. -- Residents of South Carolina who have not yet applied for federal and state disaster assistance have one week remaining to apply. Friday, Nov. 19, is the last day to file applications for disaster assistance, according to federal and state recovery officials. The assistance process will continue beyond this deadline date, but to receive that assistance applicants must call the toll-free number by Nov. 19.

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Coordinating Officer Larry Bailey and Stan McKinney, State Coordinating Officer for the South Carolina Emergency Preparedness Division (SCEPD) urge those who have not done so to apply as soon as possible by calling the toll-free registration line at 1 800-462-9029, 7a.m. to 7 p.m., seven days a week. Persons who have difficulty speaking and hearing may call the TTY registration line at 1 800-462-7578.

Renters, homeowners, landlords or business owners who live or do business in one of the eleven declared counties may be eligible for disaster assistance. The counties eligible for individual assistance are: Berkeley, Charleston, Colleton, Dillon, Dorchester, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Marion, Orangeburg and Williamsburg.

Applicants may qualify for assistance under several federal and state programs such as disaster housing assistance, grants to meet disaster-related needs, or U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) disaster loans. SBA loan applications also must be completed and returned to SBA by Friday, Nov. 19. Businesses applying for "Economic Injury Disaster Loans" will have until June 20, 2000 to submit applications.

For answers to questions about the disaster assistance programs, or the status of your application, you may call the FEMA Helpline at 1 800-525-0321. The hearing or speech impaired may call the TTY Helpline at 1- 800-660-8005. The lines are open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., seven days a week.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top