Hurricane Irene Victims Now Eligible For Federal Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
October 25, 1999
Release Number: 

RALEIGH, N.C. -- Federal and state recovery officials announced that residents of the 66 counties declared eligible for disaster assistance due to Hurricane Floyd are also eligible to register for aid for uninsured damages caused by Hurricane Irene.

"The cumulative effect of three major storms within a six week period has caused a great deal of devastation in people's lives," said Glenn Woodard, the federal coordinating officer overseeing the recovery effort. "We want to make sure that no one who is eligible for assistance gets left out."

Renters, home and/or business owners who reside or do business in any of the 66 declared counties may qualify for various forms of disaster aid.

Recovery officials urge those who have not yet registered for any hurricane-related assistance to apply immediately by calling the toll-free application hotline at 1-800-462-9029, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., daily. Individuals with hearing or speech impairments who use special keyboard equipment (TTY) may call 1-800-462-7585.

State Coordinating Officer Eric Tolbert said "this is good news for people who have been hit hard time and time again." Tolbert stressed that applicants should call as quickly as possible to help get their applications into the system. "Prompt registration is always in the applicant's best interest," Tolbert said.

Both officials stressed that registrants with questions about their applications or disaster assistance programs could call the Disaster Information Helpline at 1-800-525-0321 for further information. The keyboard-compatible (TTY) Helpline for hearing or speech-impaired individuals is 1-800-462-7585.

The 66 declared counties eligible for assistance are: Alamance, Anson, Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Chatham, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Davidson, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Franklin, Gates, Granville, Greene, Guilford, Halifax, Harnett, Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Martin, Montgomery, Moore, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Orange, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans,, Person, Pitt, Randolph, Richmond, Robeson, Rockingham, Rowan, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly, Stokes, Tyrrell, Union, Vance, Wake, Warren, Washington, Wayne and Wilson.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top